The Silk Road - Netflix

"The Silk Road cut across borders - and broke down the borders in our minds," says Dr Sam Willis, pictured. In a new three-part series for BBC Four, the historian and writer traces the story of the most famous trade route in history

This was the Silk Road which ran from China's ancient capital Xian through the mythical cities of Central Asia and Persia, until it reached the bazaars of Istanbul and the markets of Venice. It was in Venice and other Italian cities that the ideas, inventions and products that trickled down the Silk Road ignited.

They formed - in part - a movement which we call ‘the Renaissance' - an explosion of new thinking, new art and new inventions. Covering a distance of 5,000 miles and crossing some of the most dramatic landscapes on the planet, Dr Sam Willis reveals how the Silk Road was more than a market place: it was the world's first transcontinental superhighway, along which people with new ideas, new cultures and new religions made exchanges that shaped the development of humanity.

The Silk Road - Netflix

Type: Documentary

Languages: English

Status: To Be Determined

Runtime: 60 minutes

Premier: 2016-05-01

The Silk Road - Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor - Netflix

Silk Roads: the Routes Network of Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor is a UNESCO World Heritage Site which covers the Chang'an-Tianshan portion of the ancient Silk Road and historical sites along the route. On June 22, 2014, UNESCO designated a 5,000 km stretch of the Silk Road network from Central China to the Zhetsyu Region of Central Asia as a World Heritage Site. The corridor spans China, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan and includes 33 new sites and several previously designated heritage sites.

The Silk Road - History - Netflix

In 1988, UNESCO initiated a study of the Silk Road to promote understanding of cultural diffusion across Eurasia and protection of cultural heritage. In August 2006, UNESCO and the State Administration of Cultural Heritage of the People's Republic of China co-sponsored a conference in Turpan, Xinjiang on the coordination of applications for the Silk Road's designation as a World Heritage Site At this conference, China and five Central Asia republics, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan agreed to make a joint application in 2010. The six countries formed a coordinating committee in 2009 to prepare for the joint-application. On March 28, 2008, China submitted a tentative list of 48 Silk Road sites to UNESCO for consideration as cultural heritage. These sites were divided into overland Silk Road sites in Henan, Shaanxi, Qinghai, and Gansu Province, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region and Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region as well as maritime Silk Road sites in Ningbo, Zhejiang Province and Quanzhou, Fujian Province. On May 2, 2008, Iran submitted a tentative list of Silk Route sites in Khorasan Province. On January 3, 2010, Turkmenistan submitted a list of 29 sites along 11 segments of the Silk Road. On January 20, 2010, India submitted a tentative list of Silk Road sites divided into 12 components. On February 19, 2010, Kyrgyzstan submitted a list of six sites and Uzbekistan submitted a list with 18 sites. Kazakhstan's tentative list was submitted on May 3, 2012. At the end of 2011, UNESCO proposed that due to the vast scale of the Silk Road project that the application be divided into corridors. In December 2011, China, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan agreed to jointly pursue application for one corridor from Central China across the Tianshan Range, and each country nominated one government official, one archaeologist and a national application committee. Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan prepared to apply for another corridor. In 2013, the application for the Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor was finalized and officially submitted by Kyrgyzstan. It contained 22 sites in China, 8 sites in Kazakhstan and 3 sites in Kyrgyzstan. Each UNESCO member country may submit one application per year, and China had submitted an application for the Grand Canal. The original sites proposed by China was substantially revised for this application. Sites in the Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region and relating to the Maritime Silk Road were removed. Chinese organizers have said that several of the sites left out of the application may be submitted in the future. On June 22, 2014, at the 38th meeting of the World Heritage Committee in Doha, Qatar, the Chang'an-Tianshan Corridor application was approved.

The Silk Road - References - Netflix